top-right

Reviews of Bark Busters Dog Training Arlington Heights IL

We place a very high value on customer feedback to ensure we stay in tune with our clients needs and expectations and continue to deliver excellent results and customer service. Every customer is given a feedback form which may be returned freepost to our Head Office. The feedback is logged, and where client permission has been given, the testimonials from those feedback forms are published below.

Brad was great! Our dog was nipping at my roommate and he told us just how to handle him. I'm so happy to have talked to Brad and I recommend him very much! Thank you!!
Megan M., Northbrook, Illinois 4th October 2017


I wanted to express how happy my wife and I are with the training our dog, Harry has received from Brad Howe. Our dog was a rescue we took in back in January being just around a year old. Brad has helped us to understand how we need to handle our dog, demonstrating what we need to do, when and most importantly why. Harry is an 80 plus pound lab mix with lots of energy and we are able to control him inside our home and outside. He has been great with our grand kids and house guest. Brad has been very helpful and supportive any time we needed him. Brad checks in with us all the time, seeing how we are progressing with him. We really appreciate everything Brad has done our new family member Harry, and cant be happier that we signed a lifetime relationship with Brad. Thank you Brad! Harry and Family
Bob C., Palatine, Illinois 25th August 2017


I wanted to express how happy my wife and I are with the training our dog, Harry has received from Brad Howe. Our dog was a rescue we took in back in January being just around a year old. Brad has helped us to understand how we need to handle our dog, demonstrating what we need to do, when and most importantly why. Harry is an 80 plus pound lab mix with lots of energy and we are able to control him inside our home and outside. He has been great with our grand kids and house guest. Brad has been very helpful and supportive any time we needed him. Brad checks in with us all the time, seeing how we are progressing with him. We really appreciate everything Brad has done our new family member Harry, and cant be happier that we signed a lifetime relationship with Brad. Thank you Brad! Harry and Family
Bob C., Palatine, Illinois 25th August 2017


I would highly recommend Brad to anyone in need of basic training OR specialize training with their dogs. We rescued our Catahoula at the age of 6 mo. While our training started out with basic obedience such as claiming the door, recall, etc., it quickly moved to more specialized training. Ziggy was showing signs of aggression towards other dogs, especially when on leash. We were able to identify that his aggression as fear based and develop strategies to help with different situations. Brad was so committed to making the relationship work. He met me in different environments so that we could trouble shoot different scenarios. Our training went well beyond the realm of basic commands. I never felt like I was a burden and always felt like I had his support. Whether you are a new dog owner or a seasoned one looking for help with a troubled dog, Brad is the trainer you want by your side.
Jenny A., Wauconda, Illinois 20th June 2017


We contacted Brad because our 11 month old puppy had several disturbing behavioral issues. From the moment Brad entered our home, Buddy's behavior changed. Buddy has stopped barking at everyone and everything, he has stopped jumping on guests and most importantly, he has stopped bolting out open doors. On Brad's second visit, we worked on leash skills and within minutes Buddy was walking upright without pulling or choking himself. We (and our neighbors) could not be more pleased with the progress Buddy has made in such a short time. Hiring Brad to work with us and our baby was one of the best decisions we have made!
Richard M., Mount Prospect, Illinois 19th May 2017


: Brad was recommended by our Vet to help us with our hound / sheepdog mix that was anxious around new people and displayed fear aggression towards other dogs. During our first meeting with Brad, our dog wouldn't go near him, continued to shy away and was quite fearful of him (as he was with all strangers). Brad observed us interacting with our dog for several hours, made an analysis and give us feedback, and left us with homework that included daily training and permanent modifications on what we should / should not do to improve our family-dog life. About two weeks late, we had the second meeting with Brad and our dog greeted him with confidence. Just two weeks of us making simple modifications to how we communicated with our dog and about 10/15 minutes of training exercises each day completely changed how our dog interacted with people outside of our family. We are still working on how he greets and interacts with dogs on our daily walks and Brad checks in with us from time-to-time to hear about progress and to offer his guidance. Our family gives Brad 5 Stars for his commitment to you and the task at-hand, his dedication to the health and well being of your dog, and his high-quality and knowledgeable instruction techniques.
Erin O., Mount Prospect, Illinois 19th April 2017


We have a catahoula leopard dog we rescued at the beginning of the year and he would constantly nip, jump on and bother my girlfriend. We contacted Brad late February, he asked questions about the pup that were detailed and he showed sincere interest in helping. He came to the house observed Buckley's behaviors and with his amazing and simple correction methods he taught us, my word i swear he traded our dog in. Buckley listens and learned the corrections. He is mommy's boy now, he will not leave her side. If anyone is in the need of home dog trainer i recommend Brad and his methods. His attitude and professionalism surpasses all other trainers I've contacted. He has great plan prices and stands by his methods, as do we now. We now have a happy, well behaved dog that we are so proud of. Thank you again Brad for everything!
Dean W., Palatine, Illinois 14th April 2017


My humans are nice people, and they do really love me, but they're just very confused on how to handle dogs. They give me mixed messages, have me lead on walks, or give me attention when I bark at guests. Me and my little brother, Sparky, love them and all... but we needed to get Brad from Bark Busters here so he could properly train them. When Brad first showed up, I did my normal barking routine that my humans had so often encouraged me to do (at least I think they were encouraging me when I bark and they start fussing over me and petting me)... but Brad ignored me. And when he stepped out and back in, and I was about to lead my little brother Sparky in a loud round of barking... Brad sprayed my forehead with a water battle and shouted a loud "Stop" in dog language (it sounds like "Baah" in human speak). I was a little confused at first, but my humans picked it up quickly enough, I'm so proud of them. My humans also needed a lot of training on walks. They would have me lead.. head first right out the door, pulling them along, but then get annoyed when I kept leading the rest of the walk. I'm sure my humans do some things right, but dog-walking is not one of them. Other trainers had tried to teach my humans to walk by bribing me with constant treats the whole way. While that's certainly nice at first, a dignified pup like myself can't be bribed forever. Brad trained my humans to take the lead on the walk, head out the door first, keep me on the left with the leash having flack. Why, he even had to stop 50 times on the short walk in order for them to get it. Most trainers would give up on my humans after 3 or 4 times, and then just try to bribe me with a treat. So now that Brad trained my humans, neither Sparky nor I need to protect them from strange people in our house, or pull them along on walks, or bark loud outside into the night. That Brad fellow was quite a good people-trainer, and he really seems to love us dogs too (he obviously has good taste in which species he hangs out with)... too bad I don't see him much anymore. Some of my other dog friends have their people trainers come for months and even years (which is especially nice because those trainers give us so many treats to be good while they're present). We only saw Brad twice. Oh well, if my humans start getting confused again, Sparky and I will have to get him back over here. Woof woof, Duke and Sparky
Tim & Sally S., Lake Zurich, Illinois 27th March 2017


Brad came over to help us with Ali's "gate manners" as the minute the doorbell rang she would bark nonstop, jump at door, and then jump on any guest entering our home. Brad quickly showed us how to take over in the situation , which took away Ali's anxiety and in a very short time, we were able to let someone in, in a much more serene way, we are still working with the tools Brad showed us to keep up with this newly learned behavior for us and her...she also is much easier to deal with when letting her out the back door, as she used to try to go through us to go out, and without even working on it she become calmer when I approach my husband as she used to get upset (jealous) and jump between us, now just just sits by and relaxes. Ali is almost 8years old and we haven't had any luck since we got her at 7 months, to calm this behavior until Brad came to our rescue:)
Melody J., freeport, Illinois 23rd March 2017


I had called Brad to get some advice on how to handle my 14 mo old Goldendoodle who was chewing on items that were not good for his health in the house. Brad was very helpful and making me understand that he has some separation anxiety when we leave everyday for work. Not knowing how to really handle this since I have never had a dog that has this type of problem. I had begun to allow him to have freedom in the house along with my 3 1/2 year old Jack Russell and things were good for small time and then he begun to show problems. After speaking with Brad and making me understand what is happening to him and Bo having a little too much freedom maybe to soon and needs to re earn his freedom again. I need to put him in his kennel and gradually let him out and for him to understand he has learn not to do things in the house. I feel like this has been such a great help and he has calmed down and not as destructive as he had been. He does Jump on people as well as us and we have a spray bottle now I use on him when he does this and all I have to do is pick up the bottle and he knows immediately. :-) He is a great dog and feel like with time and maturity things will be a lot better.
Sherry M., Spring Grove, Illinois 3rd March 2017


Brad was very helpful in giving me guidance on housebreaking my adult dog. He gave me fantastic advice on steps to deal with this issue.... and it's working! Brad is very easy to talk to and made sure I understood all of the training steps and answered my questions thoroughly. Thanks Brad!
Kelly M., Grayslake, Illinois 13th February 2017


Within minutes of walking through our front door, Brad's training had an impact on our 10 month old puppy, Jax! Jax had always lacked manners at the front door, growled and barked at almost anything, and had US trained with his passive ways. Brad spent a significant amount of time educating us, which was a huge help! Once his work with Jax began, it was like we had a new dog all of the sudden! It was amazing to see such a difference in such a short amount of time. We truly appreciate Brad's knowledge & experience and we are excited to keep using everything he taught us to be consistent with training Jax. Bark Busters training WORKS!
Jessica M., Hoffman Estates, Illinois 31st October 2016


We have two small female beagle mixes that were (to put it mildly) a little unruly and not always obedient. Both are very good dogs, but they were more preoccupied with goofing around with each other than listening to my wife and me. Additionally there were a couple of food aggression incidents that concerned us. Brad did an extensive phone interview with my wife, so he had a good understanding of what was going on before he even came to our house. When he arrived for our session, the training started the minute he stepped inside the house. Izzy and Layla greeted him by jumping on him, and he got them to stop almost immediately. Brad sat with us and took us through the Barkbuster method and thoroughly answered all of our questions. He also educated us on food aggression and "sibling rivalry". Over the next hour, he patiently showed us how to deal with barking and jumping when the doorbell rang, leash manners and other corrective actions. I was amazed at how well the techniques worked and the way both dogs responded to us in such a short amount of time. As Brad told us, the key is to be consistent in the way we handle the dogs, so we now understand that although the techniques work, it is up to us to make certain we don't let Izzy and Layla's new found manners slip away over time. In summary, Brad is an excellent trainer (of both dogs and their humans) and the Bark Busters philosophy, methods and tools seem to work very well - and FAST! Only time will tell whether we've been truly successful, but after only a couple of days we can honestly say we are off to fantastic start thanks to Brad and Bark Busters.
Jeff R., Buffalo Grove, Illinois 17th September 2016


We have two small female beagle mixes that were (to put it mildly) a little unruly and not always obedient. Both are very good dogs, but they were more preoccupied with goofing around with each other than listening to my wife and me. Additionally there were a couple of food aggression incidents that concerned us. Brad did an extensive phone interview with my wife, so he had a good understanding of what was going on before he even came to our house. When he arrived for our session, the training started the minute he stepped inside the house. Izzy and Layla greeted him by jumping on him, and he got them to stop almost immediately. Brad sat with us and took us through the Barkbuster method and thoroughly answered all of our questions. He also educated us on food aggression and "sibling rivalry". Over the next hour, he patiently showed us how to deal with barking and jumping when the doorbell rang, leash manners and other corrective actions. I was amazed at how well the techniques worked and the way both dogs responded to us in such a short amount of time. As Brad told us, the key is to be consistent in the way we handle the dogs, so we now understand that although the techniques work, it is up to us to make certain we don't let Izzy and Layla's new found manners slip away over time. In summary, Brad is an excellent trainer (of both dogs and their humans) and the Bark Busters philosophy, methods and tools seem to work very well - and FAST! Only time will tell whether we've been truly successful, but after only a couple of days we can honestly say we are off to fantastic start thanks to Brad and Bark Busters.
Jeff R., Buffalo Grove, Illinois 17th September 2016


What a wonderful experience! All was fine in our home... until a new human came along - and rattled our fur babies world. Approximately 3 weeks into our daughters life - we knew something had to be done - as our 1 year old Shiba was becoming very aggressive towards our 13 year old Foxhound... and the situation was becoming very difficult to manage with a newborn in the pictures too. We had done one other training when he was a puppy - and he did well so we hoped a new form of training would solve the issue.. .and WOW... did it ever. BOTH dogs - after our first sesison were truly like new animals - we did 2 sessions and 1 walking session and really... the results are better than we could ever have hoped they would be. Both dogs are so gentle now with our baby - and so calm with each other and with other people... they are even nicer to our cat! Brad has a fantastic demeanor towards all animals - and is great with the human owners too! He makes it so easy to adopt the new methods of behavior for all involved - and with such incredible results - we have already recommended him / Bark Busters several times in the past few months. We will admit we came into the first session hopeful but skeptical - and were beyond impressed with what we gained from these sessions. We would suggest Brad and Bark Busters to anyone who asked - and wish you the same results as we had for sure! THANK YOU Brad!!!!
Stephanie & Dave K., Des Plaines, Illinois 13th August 2016


Brad is very professional and knowledgeable dog trainer. Speaking with him on the phone first I got the sense of his love for dogs and for methods that would not harm my dog. I first tried a dog school that used choke collars and just couldn't bring my dog there. Brad echoed my feelings on choke collar methods and I knew we found our dog trainer. Brad instantly found out Coco jumps on all new visitors to our home, just one of the many issues we had with Coco. He begged for food incessantly. Walking him was crazy as he zig zagged in front of me and stopped like a mule where he pleased. Brad taught us that the walk is OUR walk, not his along with a simple method of reminding him when to continue and stop. I honestly didn't think it would work with Coco. I worked with him about a week after Brad left and after just one week I saw 80% improvement on our walks. Coco stayed on my left side (my choice) he stopped when I commanded, started as well. I like that Brad stressed it doesn't have to be perfect. I'm okay with Coco being a little ahead of me but when I snap the lease (a little) he stops and waits. Totally amazing!! Never thought it would work. I love my walks with Coco now. Coco does not beg for food at our dinner table at ALL now! This is worth all the money for Barkbusters right here! Dinner was unbearable before, we couldn't put Coco anywhere to escape his crying and begging. Now he literally lays down where we allow him and not a peep! We are still struggling with teaching him front door etiquette. He hears the doorbell and gets excited. That is something we may need more help with. When we have many guests over at one time, Coco jumps at first then calms down. He calms down much quicker that before Barkbusters training but still jumps once or twice on guests but we ask him to sit and he eventually will, then we pet and praise him. We see definite improvement in the area of jumping on people but that's an area where we could probably use more help. We very much appreciate the training and guidance that Brad provided us. Living with Coco has become much more harmonious than before. We would recommend him to anyone that needs dog training.
Carol C., Glenview, Illinois 31st July 2016


Brad was amazing. We could already see results after the first day! Just him being there seems to have an effect on my dog. Great techniques, you just have to continue to apply them when he is gone. Great guy and great service!
Kristen D., Prospect Heights, Illinois 18th June 2016


We adopted a 18 month old Shepherd/Lab mix from a shelter. She was a very sweet dog but was highly energetic and mouthy in our house. Brad came to our house and spent 3 hours on our first visit. It was easy to tell that he has a great love for dogs and is incredibly knowledgeable about their behaviors. Within 10 minutes of him being at our house, he did what he called an "intervention," and we could see a huge difference in her behavior. Brad had a way of being not only strict but also loving with our dog and she immediately respected him. After our first 3 hour session, we were taught some very specific strategies to help manager her behavior in our house. This included teaching her to stay out of the kitchen while we were eating and also stopping her mouthy behavior as well as jumping on people. We also did some initial work on leash walking. His ideas were very easy to follow and made total sense. We have been working on these strategies and have noticed significant improvement in her behavior. Brad came back for a follow up visit and helped us work on some of the original interventions that he taught us yet we were struggling with. Again after this visit, we felt very confident and relieved that we had ways of dealing with our dog's behaviors. Although she still has puppy tendencies, we feel that with Brad's expertise our dog is well on her way to becoming a very well trained dog. We love the fact that he encourages us to contact him at any time with questions/concerns. We highly recommend him to anyone who needs these services.
Lisa R., Long Grove, Illinois 12th June 2016


Brad was so helpful to us in training our adopted lab mix. His explanations were easy to understand and as we practiced he gave good feedback. I am no longer pulled down the street and can actually enjoy our walks. Also, Coal doesn't bark and go crazy at every truck that goes by during our walks. So glad we contacted Brad--I've recommended him to other friends & acquaintances.
Dana M., Glenview, Illinois 17th May 2016


Fantastic trainer, was brilliant to be able to talk to someone knowledgeable and confident in his field. All the techniques are working well and we have seen a great improvement in Rusty in such a short time! Would definitely recommend for anyone looking to bring structure into their dogs life.
Tim B., Palatine, Illinois 15th May 2016




Go to top